Page Modified
12/15/16 2:13 PM

County Home Divisions/Departments Online Services FAQ Office of Budget & Finance

Planning Commission

The board members are as follows: Front row from left to right:  Drew Bowen, Terry Reiber (Chairman), Clint Wiley (Vice-Chairman).  Back row from left to right:  Sasson Shaool, Dennis Reeder, Commissioner Bill McKinley, Sam Ecker
The members are as follows:  Back Row (left to right):  Dennis Reeder, Clint Wiley, Andrew Bowen, David Kline.  Front row (left to right):  Commissioner LeRoy E. Myers, Jr. and Terry Reiber.  Absent from photo: Jeremiah Weddle.

The Planning Commission is a board of seven members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners of Washington County.  The board consists of six members appointed from the general public and one member who also serves on the BOCC.  This member usually serves as an ex-officio participant.

The Commission is charged with reviewing and approving subdivision plats, forest conservation plans, site plans, and development plans.  The Commission also acts in an advisory capacity to the BOCC on items such as rezoning requests, ordinance text amendments, and adoption of County Ordinances.  Another key responsibility of the Commission is the development of the Comprehensive Plan for the County.  This document is updated on a six year cycle and acts as a basis for long and short term planning goals.

The Planning Commission meets the first Monday of every month at 7:00pm in the Administration Building, 100 W. Washington Street, 2nd Floor, Room 255.  ** Please note that meeting dates, times, and locations are subject to change and may occur on short notice.  You may contact the Planning Department to confirm the date, time and location of each meeting.

** Regular Monthly Meeting
January 9, 2017
February 6, 2017
March 6, 2017
April 3, 2017
May 1, 2017
June 5, 2017
July 10, 2017
August 7, 2017
September 11, 2017
October 2, 2017
November 6, 2017
December 4, 2017

January 23, 2017, 3:00 p.m.
February 13, 2017, 7:00 p.m.
April 17, 2017, 3:00 p.m.
May 15, 2017, 7:00 p.m.


The Planning Commission’s Policy #7 states, “Approvals from agencies for all matters to be considered by the Commission must be received by the Planning Commission office by no later than 9:00 a.m. two Mondays prior to the Commission meeting.  All matters not received by the times indicated will be deferred until the Commission’s regular meeting the following month.”  Determination for plan readiness for review by the Planning Commission is determined by the Department of Plan Review & Permitting.

All regular monthly Planning Commission meetings will be held in the County Administration Building located at 100 West Washington Street, Room 255, Hagerstown, Maryland. Attendees must use the entrance on West Washington Street and the elevator to the second floor.  Meetings begin promptly at 7:00 p.m.  The Planning Commission reserves the right to cancel and/or change the meeting dates and time as needed.

Workshop meetings will be scheduled on an as-needed basis.

Commission Meeting Minutes Archive

Commission Meeting Agenda Archive